SGPC Delhi

Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Management Committee or DSGMC is an autonomous organisation which manages Gurudwaras in Delhi state.DSGMC also manages various educational institutions, hospitals, old age homes, libraries and other charitable institutions in Delhi. It is headquartered in Gurdwara Rakab Ganj Sahib, near Parliament House.
Current President Manjit Singh G.K represents Shiromani Akali Dal Badal party and was elected to a four-year term on January 2013. Current General Secretary is Manjinder Singh Sirsa who defeated outgoing president Paramjit Singh Sarna in the elections of 2013.
On August 5, 2013 Maj Gen Lakhwinder Singh YSM was appointed Director General DSGPC.
Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Management Committee comprises 51 members, one member representing each of 46 wards; and five nominated members. Four nominated members are jathedars of four Sikh takhats namely Sri Akal Takht Sahib, Amritsar, Sri Keshgarh Sahib,Sri Anandpur Sahib & Sri Patna Sahib . It is governed by a Chairman and a President as per Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Act of 1971.
The term of DSGMC is four years, formed through elections conducted by Directorate of Gurdwara Elections of Delhi Government. Of over a million Sikhs living in Delhi, around 450,000 are registered voters for the DSGMC elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *